NES Color Palette of Choice

Announce new emulators, discuss which games run best under each emulator, and much much more.

Moderator: General Mods

Post Reply
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

Gil_Hamilton wrote:
Squall_Leonhart wrote:Yup, imo, reading up on the formats, PAL is a better format anyway, especially regarding colours.
NTSC's color issues are only applicable to broadcast. Not wired settings.

And NTSC has a better range of colors and brightnesses that can be reproduced. That's what makes me give it the nod instead of the higher-resolution PAL.


/agree

I also tend to prefer 60Hz over 50Hz.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

FirebrandX wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
Squall_Leonhart wrote:Yup, imo, reading up on the formats, PAL is a better format anyway, especially regarding colours.
NTSC's color issues are only applicable to broadcast. Not wired settings.

And NTSC has a better range of colors and brightnesses that can be reproduced. That's what makes me give it the nod instead of the higher-resolution PAL.


/agree

I also tend to prefer 60Hz over 50Hz.
Me too.
But there's also 60Hz PAL and 50Hz NTSC. Not just "in theory" but in actual broadcast use.

50Hz NTSC strikes me as supremely strange, but it exists.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

While its true those formats exist, they are not really the norm. I was speaking from a practical standpoint of how home video games have been played for the past few decades.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Do PAL ps2 games allow you to run in 50 and 60hz PAL or 50hz PAL and 60hz NTSC?
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Squall_Leonhart
Trooper
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Squall_Leonhart »

yeah, some do, same with some games on GCN.
blargg
Regular
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by blargg »

Technically, PAL and NTSC are standards for encoding color into a composite video signal, not specifications of the field/frame rate.
Squall_Leonhart
Trooper
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Squall_Leonhart »

blargg wrote:Technically, PAL and NTSC are standards for encoding color into a composite video signal, not specifications of the field/frame rate.


This is true, over time the less informed people have accustomed the 50/60hz difference to PAL and NTSC though, that belief is slowly passing.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

franpa wrote:Do PAL ps2 games allow you to run in 50 and 60hz PAL or 50hz PAL and 60hz NTSC?

Technically it's PAL50 / PAL60, when there's an option.

To elaborate on QL's rather vague "some"...
Most PS2 games are still stuck in PAL50. Only a handful (compared to the total amount) proposes PAL60, and as already mentionned a very tiny few even proposed progressive scan.
On the other hand a large part of GCN games were able to pull both 50/60 (no progressive, though), with only a small library of PAL50-only halfassed versions. Several games are even stuck in PAL60, which is better anyway (and only TVs as old as some of us here can't pull it).
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
blackmyst
Zealot
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Place.

Post by blackmyst »

Got any examples? I've never seen a PS2 game do PAL60. The few I own that have a 60hz option output NTSC when using it.
Procrastination.
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

Squall_Leonhart wrote:
blargg wrote:Technically, PAL and NTSC are standards for encoding color into a composite video signal, not specifications of the field/frame rate.


This is true, over time the less informed people have accustomed the 50/60hz difference to PAL and NTSC though, that belief is slowly passing.


Its not a belief, its just an easy association scheme. Whether or not the field/frame rates were 'technically' part of the specifications doesn't matter, much like the whole "system tray does not exist" debate. People dealt with 50Hz PAL and 60Hz NTSC for decades. To call them less informed is similar to splitting cunt hairs. I'm surpised someone hasn't started correcting us on how its 59.97Hz or some shit instead of 60Hz. Afterall, its 'less informed' to think of it as 60Hz.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

FirebrandX wrote:I'm surpised someone hasn't started correcting us on how its 59.97Hz or some shit instead of 60Hz. Afterall, its 'less informed' to think of it as 60Hz.


what about 49.97Hz PAL?
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
byuu

Post by byuu »

FirebrandX wrote:I'm surpised someone hasn't started correcting us on how its 59.97Hz or some shit instead of 60Hz.


Actually, it's 59.94005994005994005994005994006hz.

(in all seriousness, I agree with you :P )
badinsults
"Your thread will be crushed."
Posts: 1236
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:49 am
Location: Not in Winnipeg
Contact:

Post by badinsults »

Pff, the 60 Hz peak is spread out over a much wider frequency range than just some single irrational number that you state.
<pagefault> i'd break up with my wife if she said FF8 was awesome
Squall_Leonhart
Trooper
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Squall_Leonhart »

badinsults wrote:Pff, the 60 Hz peak is spread out over a much wider frequency range than just some single irrational number that you state.


LOL, that too is true, especially since a signal is never just a static number but fluctuates constantly.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

blackmyst wrote:Got any examples? I've never seen a PS2 game do PAL60. The few I own that have a 60hz option output NTSC when using it.

Really?!?

That's weird as hell.
...
Not that it'd be the weirdest thing about the PS2, but....
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

blackmyst wrote:Got any examples? I've never seen a PS2 game do PAL60. The few I own that have a 60hz option output NTSC when using it.

That is the PAL60, as far as I know.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
diminish
Lurker
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 1:29 pm

Post by diminish »

Agozer wrote:
blackmyst wrote:Got any examples? I've never seen a PS2 game do PAL60. The few I own that have a 60hz option output NTSC when using it.

That is the PAL60, as far as I know.

In my case (Silent Hill 3 PAL using composite bundled cable on PAL tv) I only had colors in 50Hz mode, so I assume that other mode was 60Hz NTSC. DC games used PAL60, but I don't remember any example of PS2 game using PAL60 for 60Hz mode.
blackmyst
Zealot
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Place.

Post by blackmyst »

My old TV handles PAL60, but not NTSC, so I can tell the difference between the PS2's and Cube's 60hz output. ;) I even think some PS2 games outright call it NTSC mode in the options, but I may remember that wrong.
Procrastination.
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

diminish wrote:
Agozer wrote:
blackmyst wrote:Got any examples? I've never seen a PS2 game do PAL60. The few I own that have a 60hz option output NTSC when using it.

That is the PAL60, as far as I know.

In my case (Silent Hill 3 PAL using composite bundled cable on PAL tv) I only had colors in 50Hz mode, so I assume that other mode was 60Hz NTSC. DC games used PAL60, but I don't remember any example of PS2 game using PAL60 for 60Hz mode.

My old TV had the same problem - only monochrome when a game was set to 60Hz.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

blackmyst wrote:My old TV handles PAL60, but not NTSC, so I can tell the difference between the PS2's and Cube's 60hz output. ;) I even think some PS2 games outright call it NTSC mode in the options, but I may remember that wrong.

Could you test out Jak II's 60Hz mode ?

It's also one of the few pulling progressive.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
greytangerine
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 2:58 am

Re:

Post by greytangerine »

FirebrandX wrote:Here's the new file, which is a combination of mine and Squire's work:

http://www.firebrandx.com/downloads/fbx2pal.zip

I've got about 100 cartidges I can continue to test colors on. Pretty much the top 100 games for the NES as it is, so I should get a good cross section to work with. Let me know of any game colors you have issues with and I will verify them from my end. Thanks!



It seems the link is broken, do you still have a copy FirebrandX, or does somebody here have a mirror?

Thanks!
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Re: NES Color Palette of Choice

Post by franpa »

http://home.exetel.com.au/franpa/random/nes_palette

I'm unsure how new it is but am pretty sure it was after majority of activity in this thread died down.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Post Reply