Top #10 ZSNES questions

The official forum for ZSNES documentation. Discuss future changes, mistakes, etc...
You can also join us on IRC at irc.freenode.net in #zsnes-docs.

Moderators: ZSNES Mods, ZSNES Doc Team

Richard C.
Lurker
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

Top #10 ZSNES questions

Post by Richard C. »

if, on first-run, zsnes was to display a list of the top ten questions and answers, which ones should make it on the list?
Latest ZSNES release: ZSNES 11/12/06 WIP
Latest NSRT release: NSRT 3.3 Final
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

1. Why do I get a black box when I open ZSNES?
2. Where do I get games?
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 2293
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Hmo. Son.

Post by Joe Camacho »

1.- Zsnes appears as a double window with purple/pink/green colors, what can I do to solve this?
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

"Why doesn't Yoshi's Island (and other SuperFX games) work?"

and maybe

"Why doesn't ZSNES support ROMs in 7z format?"
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

Hmm... Why doesn't my *.ips patch work?
And Why can't ZSnes be ported to <insert random non-x86 computer here>?
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
Gospel
Hazed
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:29 am

Post by Gospel »

why does the mods keep editing my zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) posts

EDIT: look it happened agin
kieran_
Mugwump
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by kieran_ »

Will these be displayed in a pop-up window, or will it be part of the ZSNES GUI, like the "Press Spacebar thing"? The reason I ask is that SNKcube mentioned the "Black Screen" problem, which really is one of the most frequently asked questions, but if the message is part of the GUI, they would not be able to see it!

Maybe it is time to start using some sort of an installer....



Edit: Here is a question you could put in :
HOW DO I CHANGE THE BUTTON LAYOUT?
Bluestreak
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bluestreak »

I always get a black screen if zsnes starts up in a non maximized window, like on the first startup.

Gospel wrote:why does the mods keep editing my zsnes (btw i have beans for brains) posts

EDIT: look it happened agin

Are you kidding or don't you know about the misspelling filter? :P
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Bluestreak wrote:I always get a black screen if zsnes starts up in a non maximized window, like on the first startup.

Use a video mode that hasn't a "D" on the right side.
Or change the desktop's color depth to 16 bit.
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Bluestreak wrote:I always get a black screen if zsnes starts up in a non maximized window, like on the first startup.

Gospel wrote:why does the mods keep editing my zsnes (btw i have beans for brains) posts

EDIT: look it happened agin

Are you kidding or don't you know about the misspelling filter? :P


Trust me, he knows about it.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

Perhaps a FAQ explaining that retexturing SNES games into hi-res isn't feasible, let alone possible.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

IceFox wrote:Perhaps a FAQ explaining that retexturing SNES games into hi-res isn't feasible, let alone possible.

That would actually be a good thing to do methinks. Leave no room for second guesses.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Richard C.
Lurker
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard C. »

ok guys, leave that in the other thread....
Latest ZSNES release: ZSNES 11/12/06 WIP
Latest NSRT release: NSRT 3.3 Final
rlbond
Hazed
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:13 am

Post by rlbond »

1. What are some good SNES games?

God I'm sick of people posting that
To truly own, you must own at all games.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

rlbond wrote:1. What are some good SNES games?

God I'm sick of people posting that

http://board.zsnes.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3957
8)
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
WyteShadow
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 6:22 am

Post by WyteShadow »

when will zsnes support 4 players?
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

WyteShadow wrote:when will zsnes support 4 players?

It already does. MultiTap is supported after all. In case you haven't noticed, the Config menu has Inputs #1 through #5.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
MonkeyforaHead
Rookie
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:46 pm
Location: location, location
Contact:

Post by MonkeyforaHead »

I've got one: will it ever be possible to play multitap-enabled games online? Like, 3- or 4-player Bomberman, with only one person at each computer? (I know you can do 4-player games online if you have 2 people at each computer, but that kinda fails to work in many situations.)
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Patience.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Rashidi
Trooper
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:45 pm

Post by Rashidi »

How do I Enable or Disable SRAM in SaveState ?
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Rashidi wrote:How do I Enable or Disable SRAM in SaveState ?

Config --> Saves --> Load savestate w/SRAM
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

Technical support isn't the purpose of this thread. Use ZSNES Talk.
setatakahashi

Post by setatakahashi »

Agozer wrote:
Rashidi wrote:How do I Enable or Disable SRAM in SaveState ?

Config --> Saves --> Load savestate w/SRAM


I think he was indicating a question to be put in FAQ not asking a question :?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Why are you bumping an old thread?... Thread necromancy is frowned upon.
Continuing FF4 Research...
setatakahashi

Post by setatakahashi »

Deathlike2 wrote:Why are you bumping an old thread?... Thread necromancy is frowned upon.


I didn't see the date of the post. Sorry...

(It was in the first page though :-\)
Locked