Hex Editor

Place to talk about all that new hardware and decaying software you have.

Moderator: General Mods

How long have you known about Hex Editors?

What's a Hex Editor?
7%
Since I started learning about computers
49%
Since I got into emulation
26%
After I was into emulation for a while
19%

Total votes: 43

Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Hex Editor

Post by Nach »

Do you know what a Hex Editor is? How long have you known?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.

Post by DataPath »

I remember hex editing moria saves back in the mid- to late- 1980s
SquareHead
Veteran

Post by SquareHead »

I had to vote since I got into Emulation. Its what drove me to leard QBASIC, so I didnt have to fire one up every time I wanted to cheat on Final Fantasy 2 or 3.
Jipcy
Veteran

Post by Jipcy »

I first encountered hex editors way back when I was doing script-kiddyish Windows hacking. Like "de-compiling" programs, changing the text of the Start button (OMG!), other silly things like that.

Oh, and using Litestep. Now there's a way to decrease Windows stability. But my god, some of the most beautiful backgrounds and visual themes were in those Litestep packages. Still have some of em (somewhat NSFW): http://www.people.virginia.edu/~jpc4x/p ... ounds.html.
[url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net]Official ZSNES Docs[/url] | [url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net/nsrt]NSRT Guide[/url] | [url=http://endoftransmission.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=394]Using a Wiimote w/ emulators[/url]
creaothceann
Seen it all

Re: Hex Editor

Post by creaothceann »

Nach wrote:Do you know what a Hex Editor is?
yes
Nach wrote:How long have you known?
It's been ages... :? I remember Norton Commander having a hex. viewer mode, and DLH distributed an utility called DLHex. These were probably the earliest I saw.
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule

Post by adventure_of_link »