ZSNES for Intel Mac ready for consumption!

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Locked
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3903
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

DAEGU wrote:hmm.. they CAN be pretty cheap
any developers interested in a mac mini?


I'm interested in it for development, but I doubt anyone wants to spend $600 + shipping to send me one.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Shin_Gouki
Rookie
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: BW, Germany

Post by Shin_Gouki »

maybe we need a mac "donation" thread where all who want can donate for mac for u devs?
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Shin_Gouki wrote:u devs

lol /udev/
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Shin_Gouki
Rookie
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: BW, Germany

Post by Shin_Gouki »

well i have programmed myself (in my studys) some assembler on the OPL2
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OPL2)
So i always appreciate it when "people" like u become "devs". Its simply amazing that u can go with this stuff what many of us would consider pre torture :D
(ah yes and if i am not too lazy i try to improve my u -> you)
doktor_kris
Lurker
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:47 pm
Contact:

Post by doktor_kris »

Just wanted to utter my gratitude for the OS X port of ZSNES.
Works splendid.
tehnick
Hazed
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:41 am

Post by tehnick »

Nach wrote:
DAEGU wrote:hmm.. they CAN be pretty cheap
any developers interested in a mac mini?


I'm interested in it for development, but I doubt anyone wants to spend $600 + shipping to send me one.


It's actually pretty easy at this point to install OS X on standard x86 PC hardware now that Apple has transitioned to Intel. A real Mac is hardly required anymore for development.
declan
Lurker
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:45 am
Location: Austalia

Post by declan »

Do you recon it would be possible (not that I want to attempt this) to port apple software to PC?
I mean if its an x86 based mac, all the opcodes and operands should be the same as PC?
It would just be a matter of changing how the program interacts with the kernal right?

Not that it really matters. Just curious.
Hardware means nothing if you don't have good software.
Compare the success of SNES over Genisis
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Some people prefer a native port on their Mac, so whining about that is fruitless, even though the SDL port is arguably worse than the Windows port to begin with.
Continuing FF4 Research...
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3903
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

tehnick wrote:
Nach wrote:
DAEGU wrote:hmm.. they CAN be pretty cheap
any developers interested in a mac mini?


I'm interested in it for development, but I doubt anyone wants to spend $600 + shipping to send me one.


It's actually pretty easy at this point to install OS X on standard x86 PC hardware now that Apple has transitioned to Intel. A real Mac is hardly required anymore for development.


Yeah, but I've had no luck installing it yet on a standard PC. I did recently get some new hardware, but didn't try it on that yet.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
tehnick
Hazed
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:41 am

Post by tehnick »

I actually use OS X as my main OS on my standard x86 PC. When I upgraded it not long ago, I just took it into consideration when I chose the parts I wanted so that I would be sure to have compatible hardware. I have no problems.
Krade
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:23 am

Post by Krade »

Funny, I was trying to compile ZSNES again (with a non-broken zlib this time, since I never got around to make an --enable-release build for it), but I can't a working build under Leopard. Everything builds just fine, then when I run it, I get a segfault after ManyMouse detects the mice. Setting CFLAGS to "-mmacosx-version-min=10.4 -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.4u.sdk" doesn't help. And the binaries I built under Tiger still work just fine under Leopard.

Could it be my version of nasm?

Code: Select all

NASM version 0.98.40 (Apple Computer, Inc. build 11) compiled on Sep 23 2007


Crash reporter says:

Code: Select all

Thread 0 Crashed:
0   dyld                             0x8fe18b42 misaligned_stack_error + 0
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3903
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Not sure. Perhaps we can discuss it over IRC and try to pinpoint it.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
OxLa
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:10 pm

Works great on my hackintosh :)

Post by OxLa »

I've Leopard 10.5.4 on my P4 system. Everything works great (this Zsnes 1.51 build) thanks :)

my audigy 2ZS with nv6800 + zsnes openGL :) sweet! I wonder why pagefault wants macmini lol, when you can install OSX on normal pcs...

my thread @ IMF http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=104797
OxLa
selmo2000
Rookie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 2:19 am

Post by selmo2000 »

I'm trying to compile zSNES from SVN and I'm hitting a road block. I just finished compiling and installing Qt v4.4.3 to /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3. The configure script is detecting the Qt libraries but not a functional Qt setup? Any ideas?

Per Qt's installation instructions, /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/bin has been added to $PATH.

OS: Mac OS X v10.5.6

Code: Select all

sh ./autogen.sh --with-qt-path=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3
Generating build information using aclocal and autoconf...
checking build system type... i386-apple-darwin9.6.0
checking host system type... i386-apple-darwin9.6.0
checking target system type... i386-apple-darwin9.6.0
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of executables...
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking for g++... g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking for nasm... nasm
checking for sdl-config... /usr/local/bin/sdl-config
checking for SDL - version >= 1.2.0... yes
checking for zlib - version >= 1.2.3... yes
checking for libpng - version >= 1.2.0... yes
checking for Qt4 libraries >= 4.1.1... found
checking for functionnal Qt setup... nope
configure: error: Couldn't compile moc output
Image
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Whatever was in SVN is not something you want to compile... seriously.
Continuing FF4 Research...
brian073
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:41 pm
Contact:

Post by brian073 »

Thank you for this. I've been an exclusive PC user, until recently, now I can use my hands-down favorite emulator on my mac.
Production Assistant Jobs | "Video Games are bad for you? That's what they said about Rock 'N' Roll." Shigeru Miyamoto, Mario creator
optixx

Post by optixx »

OS: Mac OS X v10.5.6

Code: Select all

sh ./autogen.sh --with-qt-path=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3

....

checking for functionnal Qt setup... nope
configure: error: Couldn't compile moc output
[/quote]

Looks like that the automake qt stuff is not working and doesnt pass moc and qt compile test.
I just ripped this stuff out of the confgure script.
Added hardcoded CFLAGS and LDFLAGS stuff to the Makefile.

To compile u have to something like thiss:

Code: Select all

-I/Developer/SDKs/Qt/include 


To link i added this:

Code: Select all

-L/Developer/SDKs/Qt/   -F/Developer/SDKs/Qt/lib -L/Developer/SDKs/Qt/lib -framework QtGui -L/Developer/SDKs/Qt/lib -F/Developer/SDKs/Qt/lib 


Iam able to compile that thing. But it segfaultl right after the start:


david@box:[~/Devel/arch...zsnes/trunk/src]$ ./zsnes

Code: Select all

ZSNES v1.52, (c) 1997-2007, ZSNES Team

Be sure to check http://www.zsnes.com/ for the latest version.

ZSNES is written by the ZSNES Team (See AUTHORS.TXT)
ZSNES comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.  This is free software,
and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions;
please read 'LICENSE.TXT' thoroughly before doing so.

This is a work in progress build. It contains code which
May or may not be complete

If this is supposed to be an official release, you forgot to
run configure with --enable-release, go rebuild.

Use ZSNES -? for command line definitions.

ManyMouse: 2 mice detected.
Using ManyMouse for:
Mouse 0: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad
Mouse 1: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad
Segmentation fault



I fired up gdb.

Code: Select all

Program received signal EXC_BAD_ACCESS, Could not access memory.
Reason: 13 at address: 0x00000000
0x8fe18c02 in __dyld_misaligned_stack_error ()
(gdb) bt
#0  0x8fe18c02 in __dyld_misaligned_stack_error ()
#1  0xbfffcd40 in ?? ()
#2  0x000b7923 in WaitForKey ()
#3  0x95f2de1a in _nsnote_callback ()
#4  0x9524e8da in __CFXNotificationPost ()
#5  0x9524ebb3 in _CFXNotificationPostNotification ()
#6  0x95f2b080 in -[NSNotificationCenter postNotificationName:object:userInfo:] ()
#7  0x95f348c8 in -[NSNotificationCenter postNotificationName:object:] ()
#8  0x9647f49a in -[NSApplication _postDidFinishNotification] ()
#9  0x9647f3a9 in -[NSApplication _sendFinishLaunchingNotification] ()
#10 0x963f8ec3 in -[NSApplication(NSAppleEventHandling) _handleAEOpen:] ()
#11 0x963f86bc in -[NSApplication(NSAppleEventHandling) _handleCoreEvent:withReplyEvent:] ()
#12 0x95f5343f in -[NSAppleEventManager dispatchRawAppleEvent:withRawReply:handlerRefCon:] ()
#13 0x95f5314f in _NSAppleEventManagerGenericHandler ()
#14 0x954b8648 in aeDispatchAppleEvent ()
#15 0x954b857e in dispatchEventAndSendReply ()
#16 0x954b8425 in aeProcessAppleEvent ()
#17 0x934729a5 in AEProcessAppleEvent ()
#18 0x963f5f91 in _DPSNextEvent ()
#19 0x963f5630 in -[NSApplication nextEventMatchingMask:untilDate:inMode:dequeue:] ()
#20 0x963ee66b in -[NSApplication run] ()
#21 0x00298570 in main ()
(gdb)


Iam not an Mac expert, cant really say whats wrong. Looks like code execution on the stack, somehow. Maybe the apple nasm is crap.
Krade
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:23 am

Post by Krade »

In OS X, the stack needs to be aligned to 16 bytes.

This isn't an SVN issue, 1.51 started doing that when compiled under Leopard. Binaries compiled under Tiger still run fine on Leopard -- I'm guessing Tiger was lenient and didn't care much and Leopard retains this behavior for Tiger compiled binaries, while Leopard explicitly breaks.

So yeah, the stack needs to be padded to a 16 bytes boundary before calling into C library functions / framework stuff. Considering there's probably a lot of those in zsnes's code, this is going to be a bitch to fix.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Yes it is.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Krade
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:23 am

Post by Krade »

Apple's gcc has a -mstackrealign option that does some tricks to realign the stack, but that only works with inline gcc asm, it seems. Would be nice if nasm could do something like that.

Wait.
hector wrote:mdynamic-no-pic doesn't appear to do anything useful so get rid of it for now. mstackrealign is needed because zsnes uses 4 byte aligned stacks, but Mac OS X requires 16 byte aligned stacks.


Now I'm confused, wasn't this accounted for already?
KaZu

Post by KaZu »

Hi every one,

I m actually on a Mac Book Pro, and I want to compile the ZSNES From SVN, in order to have the Netplay.

I have the same problem as selmo2000 -->

sh ./autogen.sh --with-qt-path=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.5.1

....

checking for functionnal Qt setup... nope
configure: error: Couldn't compile moc output


I don t understand where is the problem, and which makefile I have to change.
Optixx, can you help me ?

Thanks all
grater

comment

Post by grater »

i think the Linux srm files are not cross emulator compatible.... unless it was that Linux srm files don't work on windows equivalent emulators.

Thanks
I.S.T.
Zealot
Posts: 1325
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am

Post by I.S.T. »

Wrong!

.srm files are compatible no matter the emulator. You're thinking of the save states...
loldude
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:18 pm

Re: ZSNES for Intel Mac ready for consumption!

Post by loldude »

TL;DR ZSNES for Intel Mac needs a lot of work still, since many ROMs completely fail on Snow Leopard still on my 2010 macbook pro.
badinsults
"Your thread will be crushed."
Posts: 1236
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:49 am
Location: Not in Winnipeg
Contact:

Re: ZSNES for Intel Mac ready for consumption!

Post by badinsults »

Why exactly did you feel the need to make that post when this thread has had no replies for nearly 2 years.

Consider yourself warned, make more posts like this, and I will ban you.
<pagefault> i'd break up with my wife if she said FF8 was awesome
Locked