Lacks some emulation effect

A forum for admins and moderators to move verified bug posts to. Only move topics here if they are indeed verified bugs.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
PhobosDK
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:55 pm

Lacks some emulation effect

Post by PhobosDK »

Hi,
I'm using lastest version but seems that this emulator do not emulate some snes feature.
This can be viewed on level 2 (and lastest levels) of the great japanese game "Rendering Ranger R2", when hero jump into ship for battle in the space. The sequences of turn around ship have a very ugly flicker. I saw the same problem on some racing games but i don't remember name.
On emulator Snex9X these effects runs perfect.
You cannot be the best if lacks a feature like this.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

We have never claimed that ZSNES is the best. If you are going to file a bug report, read the bug reporting sticky and post a proper bug report.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
PhobosDK
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:55 pm

Bug reported

Post by PhobosDK »

bug reported
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Re: Bug reported

Post by Deathlike2 »

PhobosDK wrote:bug reported


That's as useful as saying "There is a bug". That tells me nothing about what is buggy.

If you cannot follow the proper bug reporting procedures, noone will take you seriously.
Continuing FF4 Research...
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

We at least need NSRT info and probably a save state via Rapidshare too.
PhobosDK
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:55 pm

I hope this could help

Post by PhobosDK »

I hope this could help:

Emulator version:
Image

Rom info:
Image

Snapshot from ZSNES:
Image

Snapshot from Snes9X:
Image

Save state from ZSNES (before enter on ship):
http://rapidshare.de/files/33482868/Rendering_Ranger_R2__J_.rar.html
PhobosDK
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:55 pm

Image

Post by PhobosDK »

Snapshot from Snes9X:
Image
foxyshadis
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 2:01 am
Contact:

Post by foxyshadis »

Does it suffer the same problem in the latest WIP? You really have to mention that or it'll get ignored.
PhobosDK
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:55 pm

Post by PhobosDK »

I see only
you are not serious
you'll get ignored

I think bad emulation that will be ignored...

We have choice about emulators.
Close your eyes and keep minor bugs update only.
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Does look like a bug in SVN r3860.

Code: Select all

NSRT v3.3 - Nach's SNES ROM Tools

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Rendering Ranger R2 (J).smc
       Name: RENDERING RANGER R2    Company: Virgin Games
     Header: None                      Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No                        SRAM: 0 Kb
       Type: Normal                     ROM: 16 Mb
    Country: Japan                    Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 200ns (SlowROM)       Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0x521F              CRC32: 8FB5AC86
        MD5: 057F03C63B9CDB4B1E7DD340982F2640
--------------------------Database--------------------------
   Name: Rendering Ranger R2
Country: Japan                  Revision: 1.0
 Port 1: Gamepad                  Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Shooter                 Genre 2: Misc
Last edited by Clements on Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 2293
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Hmo. Son.

Post by Joe Camacho »

PhobosDK wrote:I see only
you are not serious
you'll get ignored

I think bad emulation that will be ignored...

We have choice about emulators.
Close your eyes and keep minor bugs update only.


What?
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

Joe Camacho wrote:
PhobosDK wrote:I see only
you are not serious
you'll get ignored

I think bad emulation that will be ignored...

We have choice about emulators.
Close your eyes and keep minor bugs update only.


What?

I was thinking the same.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
kevman
Redneck Gamer-Mod
Posts: 433
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by kevman »

All your base.

I think he's saying that Zsnes is going to get ignored.
SHREIK!!!!!!! DDdddnnnnnnaaaa! GESTAHLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!

Steelers now officially own your ass.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

PhobosDK wrote:I see only
you are not serious
you'll get ignored

I think bad emulation that will be ignored...

We have choice about emulators.
Close your eyes and keep minor bugs update only.


he only sees that people aren't taking him seriously... and thinks that this bug report will go unnoticed thus never being fixed anytime soon.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

it would have been his own fault, too.

just doesn't know how to report properly. there is a reason that this procedure is required, after all.
Image
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

My guess that it is a timing issue (IOW, wait for the new core, and don't ask for the ETA). I've seen some rendering bugs that are attributed to the timing being off.
Continuing FF4 Research...
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

what does IOW mean
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 2293
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Hmo. Son.

Post by Joe Camacho »

adventure_of_link wrote:what does IOW mean

http://www.acronymfinder.com/, mothafucka, do you use it?
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

now I will :D

Thanks Joe. :)
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
PhobosDK
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:55 pm

Post by PhobosDK »

This bug is still in lastest (ZSNES v1.51) version.
Post Reply