Chrono Trigger bug in latest WIP (not the flashing bug)

A forum for admins and moderators to move verified bug posts to. Only move topics here if they are indeed verified bugs.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
jsnake
Rookie
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:13 am

Chrono Trigger bug in latest WIP (not the flashing bug)

Post by jsnake »

I've noticed a bug in the latest WIP of ZSNES (9/4/06) in Chrono Trigger that I can't recall happening in the past versions. Basically, after walking around in the game for a few minutes, the characters seem to stop their walking animations. They don't completely stop moving, but the game doesn't move to the next frame of the walking (or running) animation. It's as if they're static sprites moving in place.

To the best of my knowledge, this was not present in past ZSNES versions. Here is the NSRT info of the rom.


NSRT v3.3 - Nach's SNES ROM Tools

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Chrono Trigger.smc
Name: CHRONO TRIGGER Company: Square
Header: SWC Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: No SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: Normal + Batt ROM: 32 Mb
Country: USA Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x788C CRC32: 2D206BF7
MD5: A2BC447961E52FD2227BAED164F729DC
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Chrono Trigger
Country: USA Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG Genre 2: Turn Based
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

System specs? It sounds like you are using frame skip though, which can cause something like this to happen.
Continuing FF4 Research...
jsnake
Rookie
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:13 am

Post by jsnake »

Deathlike2 wrote:System specs? It sounds like you are using frame skip though, which can cause something like this to happen.


AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2Ghz, NVidia GeForce 6600GT, 1024MB DDR400 RAM. Max frameskip is set to 0.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Edit: I think it's a timing issue.. you'll wait to wait for the new core (please don't ask for an ETA).
Continuing FF4 Research...
jsnake
Rookie
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:13 am

Post by jsnake »

Deathlike2 wrote:Edit: I think it's a timing issue.. you'll wait to wait for the new core (please don't ask for an ETA).


Ah, I had suspected that. Well, I can wait.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

jsnake, watch the CT intro to see just how bad the timing issue can get.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Starman Ghost
Trooper
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:26 am

Post by Starman Ghost »

This bug is most severe in the Gaurdia forest, any time period. Immediatly after entering you no longer have walk animations, your team members can't keep up with you, and monsters don't appear until you get really close. It's kinda funny looking.

Code: Select all

<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks?
<TheXPhial> vaccuums
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks in a metaphorical sense?
<TheXPhial> black holes
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what just isn't cool?
<TheXPhial> lava?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

I'm not entirely sure if this is fixed in 1.51, but whatever is currently in SVN is more like this bug report atm. I'll leave this here for now.
Continuing FF4 Research...
mastershake1
Rookie
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 4:03 pm

Post by mastershake1 »

This appears to be fixed as of r4538 - see my post on the other thread: http://board.zsnes.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=8276

Hopefully that can be replicated. Congrats!
pagefault
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Location: In your garden

Post by pagefault »

TODO for 1.60 it will be fixed for sure.
Watering ur plants.
Post Reply