SVN Sound Core Replacement

Found a bug? Please report it, but remember to follow the bug reporting guidelines.
Missing a sane feature? Let us know!
But please do NOT request ports to other systems.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

10-15% slower perhaps. I can't really tell since ZSNES isn't really taxing on my system.
Continuing FF4 Research...
Talbain
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:56 am

Post by Talbain »

Nach wrote:We made some progress, note we still have some things to work out, so the final version will sound better than this recording, right now we're dropping the occasional sample.
http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/audio.mp3
That's for Chrono Trigger fans. A lot of the Lavos sounds which never played right now do. So Square annoyances are almost gone :)
Note I cut out some silent areas from that file, and there may also be a bit of quality loss from the compression. However if you were familiar with the Lavos sound before, you'll hear how much this is improved.


This sounds MUCH better... still, I don't really think this is accurate... The sound effect 3-4 seconds in is wrong. But, I know this is still WIP, so I'll wait for the finished product before casting any judgments.

I did notice that the Lavos Bit sound effects sound really good.

Edit: The background music does fade in and out, my mistake. Just confirmed it. The sound effect 3-4 seconds in is incorrect though.
Last edited by Talbain on Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pagefault
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Location: In your garden

Post by pagefault »

It's still being perfected. Timing is being overhauled a lot.
Watering ur plants.
RealmRPGer
Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:41 pm

Post by RealmRPGer »

Is there any ETA on this sucker?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

RealmRPGer wrote:Is there any ETA on this sucker?


It is done when it is done. I said originally that there was no ETA.
Continuing FF4 Research...
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

I can't wait to get my hands on that new sound core
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

The sound core is implemented, it's really the sound output that is being waited on. If you make a build, you can play back the wav file in the directory ZSNES is in and see how much better it is.

At the moment, there are other pending stuff to do in SVN... like completion of the OpenGL support.
Continuing FF4 Research...
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3903
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Deathlike2 wrote:The sound core is implemented, it's really the sound output that is being waited on.

Um no. It's mostly completed. Many games you can still hear missing notes or stretched notes in the WAV.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Talbain
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:56 am

Post by Talbain »

Is this being reworked at the same time as the CPU and GPU (there may be more accurate terms for these two processors on the SNES, but I don't know them, so I'm using the computer equivalents), or is it separate from the two aside from timing?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Talbain wrote:Is this being reworked at the same time as the CPU and GPU (there may be more accurate terms for these two processors on the SNES, but I don't know them, so I'm using the computer equivalents), or is it separate from the two aside from timing?


No. The core rewrite is being done after the next release or two. The current core will be tweaked probably at least once more before the next release. When the old core gets dumped, then you should expect most, if not all games to implode on you when the new core is inserted (especially savestates). The graphics (new graphics engine) will probably not be worked on during this period.
Continuing FF4 Research...
RealmRPGer
Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:41 pm

Post by RealmRPGer »

Okay. By the sounds of it, this new sound core isn't going to in for a loong time... So I should prolly just use an older version to play right now instead of waiting..
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

RealmRPGer wrote:Okay. By the sounds of it, this new sound core isn't going to in for a loong time... So I should prolly just use an older version to play right now instead of waiting..


No, read carefully. The new sound core is in, but it is still imperfect.

1) SDL has output, but then again, the SDL sound output code isn't perfect IIRC.

2) All other ports have no sound output.

3) There are still some SPC bugs, and we have yet to integrate blargg's latest research/update to our source (we have one of his older versions in).
Continuing FF4 Research...
momotaro
Rookie
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:39 pm

Post by momotaro »

How-to compile ZSNES port SDL ????

Now I use MinGW with this command-line :

Code: Select all

make -f makefile.ms PLATFORM=win32 CPU=athlon-xp RELEASEGRADE=no

What change ????
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3903
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Deathlike2 wrote:1) SDL has output, but then again, the SDL sound output code isn't perfect IIRC.

Well, until I see otherwise, it pretty much is, for the time being anyway.
Problems you hear with it are issues with us not using blargg's latest stuff yet.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

momotaro wrote:How-to compile ZSNES port SDL ????

Now I use MinGW with this command-line :

Code: Select all

make -f makefile.ms PLATFORM=win32 CPU=athlon-xp RELEASEGRADE=no

What change ????


SDL port was meant for anything but Windows or DOS.
Continuing FF4 Research...
RealmRPGer
Rookie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:41 pm

Post by RealmRPGer »

Deathlike2 wrote:
RealmRPGer wrote:Okay. By the sounds of it, this new sound core isn't going to in for a loong time... So I should prolly just use an older version to play right now instead of waiting..


No, read carefully. The new sound core is in, but it is still imperfect.

1) SDL has output, but then again, the SDL sound output code isn't perfect IIRC.

2) All other ports have no sound output.

3) There are still some SPC bugs, and we have yet to integrate blargg's latest research/update to our source (we have one of his older versions in).


Yeah, I read that. And to me it sounded like "yeah, it's in there, but we can't be arsed to actually make it output to speaker."
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

shut up

if it was simple, it would've been done by now.
Image
Kajuru
Regular
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Location: localhost

Post by Kajuru »

Yeah, I read that. And to me it sounded like "yeah, it's in there, but we can't be arsed to actually make it output to speaker."


What a stupid comment
Krade
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:23 am

Post by Krade »

Nach wrote:
Deathlike2 wrote:1) SDL has output, but then again, the SDL sound output code isn't perfect IIRC.

Well, until I see otherwise, it pretty much is, for the time being anyway.
Problems you hear with it are issues with us not using blargg's latest stuff yet.

SDL sound output is *completely* broken on OS X in the latest SVN. I mean, it outputs sound, but it's beyond terrible. I can provide you with a wav/mp3 if you want. It worked just fine on 1.51, though.

EDIT: Nevermind, I'm stupid, I misread that. I thought SDL wasn't going to get any sound changes at all.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Ok, finally DDraw+OpenGL are coexisting happily.

Sound should be very close to completion for Windows... right now we're waiting for pagefault to integrate a newer version of blargg's SPC. SDL/libao code will also follow.. it will probably favor OSS since ALSA is not ideal for streaming audio (unless someone can post sane ALSA code that works across the board).
Continuing FF4 Research...
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

thanks for the update ^^ finally i can run it at 1280x960 again xD now im just waiting for the new sound core to finish being implemented so that games will work again =)
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3903
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Even after the new sound core is implemented, expect things to be less featureful and slightly buggy till we iron and polish it all.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Nach wrote:Even after the new sound core is implemented, expect things to be less featureful and slightly buggy till we iron and polish it all.


The Sound menu will have some cleanup for sure...
Continuing FF4 Research...
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Nach wrote:Even after the new sound core is implemented, expect things to be less featureful and slightly buggy till we iron and polish it all.


of course :-)
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

SVN sound output is being held up because pagefault needs to be able to debug the stuff.. however, the old debugger is not hooked in with the new SPC stuff...

So instead of trying to fix the debugger to handle the SPC stuff.. the debugger is being rewritten with/in/for (?) QT.
Continuing FF4 Research...
Post Reply