Post v1.42 ZSNES WIPs

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Locked
Noxious Ninja
Dark Wind
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by Noxious Ninja »

Aerdan wrote:Please don't use mingw32-make.exe. It sucks.
Except it works fine in this context and is easier.
[u][url=http://bash.org/?577451]#577451[/url][/u]
Jipcy
Veteran
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Jipcy »

Clements wrote:Thankyou. That worked.

Edit: Yay!
Notice any changes/improvements with the cpu optimizations?
[url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net]Official ZSNES Docs[/url] | [url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net/nsrt]NSRT Guide[/url] | [url=http://endoftransmission.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=394]Using a Wiimote w/ emulators[/url]
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Jipcy wrote:
Clements wrote:Thankyou. That worked.

Edit: Yay!
Notice any changes/improvements with the cpu optimizations?
Not really, since the optimisations only affect the SDL port for now. I'm really chuffed that my build works just like ipher's.
washuu108
Rookie
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:05 am
Contact:

Post by washuu108 »

Clements wrote:
Jipcy wrote:
Clements wrote:Thankyou. That worked.

Edit: Yay!
Notice any changes/improvements with the cpu optimizations?
Not really, since the optimisations only affect the SDL port for now. I'm really chuffed that my build works just like ipher's.
As far as I can tell, all that the SDL port has over the Windows port is that it will add the optimizations automatically. You can add them yourself fairly easily. Simply go to zsnes\src\tools in the command prompt (make sure the MinGW\bin folder is in PATH) and run the following:

Code: Select all

gcc -o archopt.exe archopt.c
archopt
Now cd back to zsnes\src and build zsnes as normal, adding CPUOPT=value to the make command, where value is whatever archopt showed you.

EDIT: Just noticed that archopt is not in the latest WIP source distribution. It is in CVS, or a binary can be found in Nach's link here as cpuopt.exe.
Jipcy
Veteran
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Jipcy »

Clements wrote:chuffed
I'm American. Does that mean "good"?
[url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net]Official ZSNES Docs[/url] | [url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net/nsrt]NSRT Guide[/url] | [url=http://endoftransmission.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=394]Using a Wiimote w/ emulators[/url]
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

washuu108 wrote:
Clements wrote:
Jipcy wrote:
Clements wrote:Thankyou. That worked.

Edit: Yay!
Notice any changes/improvements with the cpu optimizations?
Not really, since the optimisations only affect the SDL port for now. I'm really chuffed that my build works just like ipher's.
As far as I can tell, all that the SDL port has over the Windows port is that it will add the optimizations automatically. You can add them yourself fairly easily. Simply go to zsnes\src\tools in the command prompt (make sure the MinGW\bin folder is in PATH) and run the following:

Code: Select all

gcc -o archopt.exe archopt.c
archopt
Now cd back to zsnes\src and build zsnes as normal, adding CPUOPT=value to the make command, where value is whatever archopt showed you.

EDIT: Just noticed that archopt is not in the latest WIP source distribution. It is in CVS, or a binary can be found in Nach's link here as cpuopt.exe.
Thanks a lot. In my case, I added CPUOPT=athlon-xp to the end of the command and it definitely worked, as I saw with the output. I may have to test it to see which games it makes a difference with.
Jipcy wrote:I'm American. Does that mean "good"?
It's another word for pleased. I guess this means we should all compile our own optimised builds now. There's no excuse if I can manage it! :P
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

washuu108 wrote: Now cd back to zsnes\src and build zsnes as normal, adding CPUOPT=value to the make command, where value is whatever archopt showed you.
There is no CPUOPT command.

Code: Select all

#Parameters:
#
# PLATFORM=platform_name  Chose target platform and how you're creating it.
#                         Valid options are:
#                         dos, dos-cross, msvc, win32, win32-cross, win32-unix-shell
#
# RELEASEGRADE=yes        for high assembly optimization for releases, will take at least half an hour.
# clean                   cleans object and executable files.
#
# --Not for MSVC--
# DEBUG=yes               for debugging with GDB.
# CPU=cpu-type            optimize for a particular CPU, find a list of cpu types in the GCC manual.
And be warned I will probably change CPU to ARCH in my next makefile update.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

CPU=athlon-xp worked for me as well. Out of interest, how do you get the 'burning GUI' effect to work when you are compiling? I ruled out upx and CPU optimisations causing the problem. The other GUI effects work regardless.

Edit: Also, from Nach's info, I'm guess that:

mingw32-make -f makefile.ms PLATFORM=win32 CPU=athlon-xp RELEASEGRADE=yes

..would provide the most optimised build for me (at the expense of compiling time)?
Aerdan
Winter Knight
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Aerdan »

The burning effect, IIRC, uses MSVC-specific code that doesn't do anything at all in gcc, apparently.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Clements wrote: ..would provide the most optimised build for me (at the expense of compiling time)?
Yes. And be warned there is one file that takes ~5 min to compile, and another one ~25 min when doing release grade. It does not freeze.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
ipher
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:37 am
Contact:

Post by ipher »

Emulation fixes!

11/05/05
ALL: Updated BG scroll register behaviour using anomie's formula. Got it done thanks to pagefault, too. [grinvader]
ALL: Fixed small screen extra line issues (fixes Super Metroid annoying line issue). [pagefault]
ALL: Fixes for DMA, so we can have the recent improvements without breaking tons of other game. (SSF2, SFA2, FFMQ, TOP, CT, YI, Probably others). [pagefault]
SDL: SCons now using parsegen the right way [Snarius]
TOL: Architecture detection tool which may be used for various purposes. [Nach]
SRC: Updated tools compile info and 'make tools' for new tool. [grinvader]
SRC: Typo fix in todo list. [grinvader]
SRC: Cleanup (whitespace & useless EXTSYM). [grinvader]
[url=http://www.ipherswipsite.com]ipher's WIP Site[/url]
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Nach wrote:
Clements wrote: ..would provide the most optimised build for me (at the expense of compiling time)?
Yes. And be warned there is one file that takes ~5 min to compile, and another one ~25 min when doing release grade. It does not freeze.
And consider yourself lucky, it was a whoppy 45 minutes just for that file before we cleansed the source from all unused stuff.
Last edited by grinvader on Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Excellent work and a nice list of fixes.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Truth Unknown
Regular
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:35 pm

Post by Truth Unknown »

It still says 10/31 WIP on the site.
But Good Job on the new build.
ipher
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:37 am
Contact:

Post by ipher »

True X Unknown wrote:It still says 10/31 WIP on the site.
But Good Job on the new build.
I knew that release went a little too smoothly, fixed now
[url=http://www.ipherswipsite.com]ipher's WIP Site[/url]
kevman
Redneck Gamer-Mod
Posts: 433
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by kevman »

FIXED METRIOD BITCH!

:lol:
SHREIK!!!!!!! DDdddnnnnnnaaaa! GESTAHLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!

Steelers now officially own your ass.
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

Nice emulation fixes! Great job devs. :)
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Image

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Super Offroad Baja (U).smc
Name: SuperOffroad:The Baja Company: Tradewest
Header: Exists (type?) Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No SRAM: 0 Kb
Type: Normal ROM: 8 Mb
Country: USA Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x8C2C CRC32: CB483EAD
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Super Off Road - The Baja
Country: USA Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Racing Genre 2: None



Super Offroad Baja bug still there.. it changes between the messed up time (as shown in the pic) to the correct look.

No rush to fix this bug... I don't care about this game.. lol

The DMA fixes for the most part worked...
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Deathlike2 wrote: Super Offroad Baja bug still there.. it changes between the messed up time (as shown in the pic) to the correct look.
What are you saying exactly? That the recent DMA fix broke this and the recent one didn't fix it?

Or that it's always been broken and you suppose DMA should fix it and that it didn't?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

What are you saying exactly? That the recent DMA fix broke this and the recent one didn't fix it?

Or that it's always been broken and you suppose DMA should fix it and that it didn't?
It's the first one. The first DMA fix broke it and the recent DMA fix did nothing to help this game.

I refrained from posting pics of this problem (I did mention it in a different thread) because of the known DMA issue... well now you have the fix.. and nothing happened.. so now I'm reporting one of the exceptions to the fix.
Jonas Quinn
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jonas Quinn »

That's not DMA related AFAIK.
That problem was already in the 4/04/05 WIP but not in the 2/28/05 WIP.
I guess I have to narrow down the problem.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Is this when using a save state, or even from a fresh game start?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Jonas Quinn
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jonas Quinn »

It appears even from a fresh game start.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Is this when using a save state, or even from a fresh game start?
You could just let the game intro run (it runs a demo of the game, which will show the problem.
That's not DMA related AFAIK.
That problem was already in the 4/04/05 WIP but not in the 2/28/05 WIP.
I guess I have to narrow down the problem.
To me, I believed it was a DMA problem since it occured after the DMA changes occured in the 10/8/05 WIP.. it looked just fine in the 9/09/05 WIP...

Though, I might be wrong, but it could be this line in the 10/8/05 WIP that I didn't consider...
SRC: Removed some alignment dependancy, removed some archaic code such as Dracula X hack. [Nach]
pagefault
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Location: In your garden

Post by pagefault »

Maybe I didn't break something this time :)
Locked